27 Finalists Announced for The Home Depot College Football Awards

Of the 17 Programs with Finalists: Four Players from Alabama, Two from LSU, Oregon and Stanford

Finalists for *The Home Depot College Football Awards* - live on Thursday, Dec. 8, at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN – were announced today during *The Home Depot College Football* **Awards Nomination Special** on ESPNU. Quarterbacks Andrew Luck of Stanford, Kellen Moore of Boise State and Alabama running back Trent Richardson highlight the list of outstanding student-athletes in contention. The 21th annual awards show - hosted by ESPN's Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit, Desmond Howard and Erin Andrews - will originate from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney's BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

THE HOME DEPOT COLLEGE FOOTBALL AWARDS FINALISTS - (listed

alphabetically)

Chuck Bednarik Award: College Defensive Player of the Year

- Dont'a Hightower, Alabama
- Tyrann Mathieu. LSU
- Devon Still, Penn State

Biletnikoff Award: Nation's Most Outstanding Receiver

- Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State*
- Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma
- Robert Woods, USC

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award: Nation's Most Outstanding Placekicker

- Randy Bullock, Texas A&M
- Dustin Hopkins, Florida State
- Caleb Sturgis, Florida

Ray Guy Award: Nation's Most Outstanding Punter

- Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech
- Steven Clark, Auburn
- Jackson Rice, Oregon

Maxwell Award: College Player of the Year

- Andrew Luck, Stanford
- Kellen Moore, Boise State
- Trent Richardson, Alabama

Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award: Nation's Best Quarterback

- Robert Griffin III, Baylor
- •

Page 2 of 3 - 27 Finalists Announced for The Home Depot College Football Awards

Case Keenum, Houston

• Andrew Luck, Stanford

Outland Trophy: Nation's Most Outstanding Interior Lineman

- David DeCastro, Stanford
- Barrett Jones, Alabama
- Devon Still, Penn State

Jim Thorpe Award: Nation's Most Outstanding Defensive Back

- David Amerson, NC State
- Mark Barron, Alabama
- Morris Claiborne, LSU

Doak Walker Award: Nation's Most Outstanding Running Back

- Montee Ball, Wisconsin
- LaMichael James, Oregon*
- Trent Richardson, Alabama

*2010 award winner

Additionally, the John Mackey Award (Dwayne Allen, Clemson, TE) (most outstanding tight end) and the Rimington Award (most outstanding center) (TBD) will be presented during *The Home Depot College Football Awards* **Red Carpet Show**. Dwayne Allen of Clemson, Orson Charles of Georgia and Tyler Eifert of Notre Dame were announced as finalists for the John Mackey Award during *The Home Depot College Football Awards Nomination Special.*

Earlier today, the University of Alabama football team was announced as this year's recipient of the <u>Disney Sports</u> <u>Spirit Award</u>, given annually to the most inspirational figure or team in college football. Alabama was selected for its extraordinary efforts to help aid and rebuild the western Alabama region following last spring's devastating tornado. Long snapper Carson Tinker, who lost his girlfriend Ashley Harrison in the storm, will accept the award on behalf of the team at the award show.

2011 The Home Depot College Football Awards Highlights

- *The Home Depot College Football Awards Roundtable Special,* a discussion about the Heisman finalists and the year in college football, will begin at 5 p.m. on ESPNU on Thursday, Dec. 8
- The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show hosted by Erin Andrews, Tom Rinaldi and Dari Nowkhah will air at 8 p.m. on ESPNU and again after the show at 11 p.m.
- *The Home Depot College Football Awards* will feature the live presentation of the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contribution to College Football Award; The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award; The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team; the Disney Spirit Award; and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team.
- Viewers can also follow and engage on Twitter using <u>#ESPNCFA</u> for news, information and opinion surrounding this year's award show

MEDIA NOTE: Media interested in attending *The Home Depot College Football Awards* can apply for credentials at <u>www.sportssystems.com/espncfa</u>. Questions concerning credentials should be directed to Elizabeth McCollum at elizabethm@bzapr.com.

National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA)

The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their

Page 3 of 3 - 27 Finalists Announced for The Home Depot College Football Awards

candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official Web site, www.NCFAA.org.

-30-

Contacts:

Liz McCollum, Brener Zwikel & Associates, 813-421-0550 or elizabethm@bzapr.com

Gracie Blackburn, ESPN Communications, Gracie.Blackburn@espn.com