

24 Finalists Announced for The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 11

21 Programs Represented; Melvin Gordon, Marcus Mariota and Dak Prescott Receive Multiple Nominations

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. (Nov. 25, 2014) —*The Home Depot College Football Awards*, now in its 24th year, will once again air on ESPN, Thursday, Dec. 11, at 7 p.m. ET, highlighting the achievements of college football student-athletes in 2014. Twenty-four players were selected as finalists for the nine National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) awards given annually during the show. The nominees were announced during**The Home Depot College Football Awards Nomination Special** at 6 p.m. ET today on ESPNU.

Alabama and Oregon lead schools in nominations having three and two players nominated, respectively. Melvin Gordon (Wisconsin), Marcus Mariota (Oregon) and Dak Prescott (Mississippi State) are each finalists for two awards.

The Home Depot College Football Awards Finalists

Award	Presenter Teddy Lehman	Finalists Vic Beasley, Clemson (R
Chuck Bednarik Award College Defensive Player of the Year	Oklahoma 2003 Winner	Joey Bosa, Ohio State (S Scooby Wright III, Arizon
Biletnikoff Award Nation's Outstanding College Receiver	Desmond Howard Michigan College Football Hall of Fame	Amari Cooper, Alabama Rashard Higgins, Colora Kevin White, West Virgir
Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award Nation's Outstanding Placekicker	Art Carmody Louisville 2006 Winner	Roberto Aguayo, Florida Brad Craddock, Marylan Josh Lambert, West Virg
Ray Guy Award College Punter of the Year	Ray Guy Southern Miss College Football Hall of Fame	Tom Hackett, Utah (Jr.) Austin Rehkow, Idaho (S JK Scott, Alabama (Fr.)

Page 2 of 4 - 24 Finalists Announced for The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 11

	Lou Holtz	Melvin Gordon, Wiscons
Maxwell Award College Player of the Year	ESPN College Football Analyst	Marcus Mariota, Oregon
	College Football Hall of Fame	Dak Prescott, Mississipp
	Gino Torretta	Trevone Boykin, TCU (Jr.
Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award	Miami	Marcus Mariota, Oregon
Nation's Best Quarterback	College Football Hall of Fame & 1992 winner	Dak Prescott, Mississipp
	Mark May	Malcom Brown, Texas (J
Outland Trophy	Pittsburgh	Reese Dismukes, Aubur
Nation's Most Outstanding Interior Lineman	College Football Hall of Fame & 1980 winner	Brandon Scherff, Iowa (S
	Greg Myers	Landon Collins, Alabama
Jim Thorpe Award	Colorado State	lfo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregoi
Nation's Best Defensive Back	College Football Hall of Fame & 1995 winner	Gerod Holliman, Louisvil
Doak Walker Award Nation's Premier Running Back	Floyd Little	Ameer Abdullah, Nebras
	Syracuse	Tevin Coleman, Indiana
	College Football Hall of Fame	Melvin Gordon, Wiscons
	Mike Singletary	
NCFAA Contributions to College Football Award	Baylor	Winner: Grant Teaff
	College Football Hall of Fame	
	David Pollack	
The Home Depot Coach of the Year	Georgia	
Nation's Most Outstanding Head Coach	2004 Bednarik winner & ESPN College Football Analyst	TBA on Wednesday, Deo
Walter Camp All-America Team	Art Still	
	Kentucky	TBA on Thursday, Dec. 1

*2013 award winner

Additionally, the John Mackey Award (Outstanding Tight End), the Rimington Award (Outstanding Center) and the

Page 3 of 4 - 24 Finalists Announced for The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 11

William V. Campbell Trophy (Academic Success) will be recognized during**The Red Carpet Special at The Home Depot College Football Awards** Nick O'Leary (Florida State, Sr.), Clive Walford (Miami, Sr.) and Maxx Williams (Minnesota, RS So.) are finalists for the John Mackey Award and the 17 finalist for the Campbell Trophy were announced on Oct. 30. The Rimington finalists will be announced on Monday, Dec. 8.

The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, to be announced on Wednesday, Dec. 10, and the Disney Spirit Award will also be featured in the December show. **Disney Sports previously announced that Oklahoma Sooners coach Bob Stoops and junior wide receiver Sterling Shepard will receive this year's Disney Sports Spirit Award** – an honor given annually by Disney Sports to college football's most inspirational figure.

2014 The Home Depot College Football AwardsHighlights

The 24th annual awards show – hosted by ESPN's Rece Davis, and joined by Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit, Desmond Howard, Tom Rinaldi and Samantha Ponder – will originate from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney's BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

College Football Live will air from the BoardWalk at 2:30 p.m. on ESPN. Host Chris Cotter will be joinedby college football analysts' Danny Kanell, David Pollack and Joey Galloway and **The Red Carpet Special at The Home Depot College Football Awards**- hosted by Ponder, Kanell, and Rinaldi – will air at 6p.m. on ESPNU.

In addition to the nine awards listed above, **The Home Depot College Football Awards** will feature the live presentation of the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contribution to College Football Award; The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award; The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team; the Disney Spirit Award; the student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team; and Play of the Year as voted on live by viewers. It will air on ESPN Thursday, Dec. 11 at 7 p.m.

New for 2014, *Championship Drive: CFB Playoff Preview* will follow the awards show at 9 p.m. on ESPN. Host Cotter will be joined by Kanell, Pollack and Galloway.

Viewers can also follow and engage on Twitter by following @ESPNCFB and tagging their tweets using#**CFBAwards** for news, opinion and behind-the-scenes extras during and leading up to this year's award show.

MEDIA NOTE: Media interested in attending *The Home Depot College Football Awards* can apply for credentials by emailing Liz McCollum at elizabethm@bzapr.com.

Contacts:

Derek Volner, ESPN Communications

860-766-8019

Derek.Volner@espn.com

Liz McCollum, Brener Zwikel & Associates on behalf of ESPN Events

Page 4 of 4 - 24 Finalists Announced for The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 11

813-421-0550

elizabethm@bzapr.com