## Luck, Griffin III and Richardson among Award Recipients at The Home Depot College Football Awards

To tweet this release: http://es.pn/u7HQ1G

Award / Presented By

Photos from the Awards show: http://bit.ly/uvVql9 (password: 2011cfa)

**LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. (Dec. 8, 2011)** — Quarterbacks Andrew Luck of Stanford and Robert Griffin III of Baylor, along with Alabama running back Trent Richardson each claimed top awards during the 21<sup>st</sup> annual *The Home Depot College Football Awards* hosted by Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit, Desmond Howard and Erin Andrews on ESPN Thursday night live from the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Heisman finalists Luck, a senior from Houston, Texas, won the Maxwell Award for the college player of the year; Griffin III, a junior from Copperas Cove, Texas, earned the Davey O'Brien Award for the nation's most outstanding quarterback; and Richardson, a junior from Pensacola, Fla., won the Doak Walker Award for the nation's most outstanding running back. LSU's cornerback, Tyrann Mathieu, a sophomore from New Orleans, LA, also a Heisman finalist, won the Chuck Bednarik Award for the college defensive player of the year.

Other notable awards included the presentation of LSU coach Les Miles with the previously <u>announced</u> The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award and Northwestern State University senior linebacker Yaser Elqutub as the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Captain- a community service award determined by college football fan voters for the work players conduct off the field.

**Finalists and Winner** 

## THE HOME DEPOT COLLEGE FOOTBALL AWARDS WINNERS - (listed alphabetically)

Chuck Bednarik AwardCollege Defensive Player of the Year	Dont'a Hightower, Alabama <b>Tyrann Mathieu. LSU – WINNER</b>
ESPN Analyst Matt Millen	Devon Still, Penn State
Biletnikoff AwardNation's Most Outstanding	Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State (2010 award winner) –
Receiver	WINNERRyan Broyles, Oklahoma
Fred Biletnikoff*	Robert Woods, USC
Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award Nation's Most Outstanding Placekicker	Randy Bullock, Texas A&M - WINNER Dustin Hopkins, Florida State Caleb Sturgis, Florida
Judd Groza (son of Lou Groza)	<b>3</b> .

Ray Guy AwardNation's Most Outstanding Punter Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech – WINNERSteven Clark, Auburn

Ray Guy\* Jackson Rice, Oregon

Maxwell AwardCollege Player of the Year Andrew Luck, Stanford – WINNERKellen Moore, Boise State

Herschel Walker\* (1982 winner)

Trent Richardson, Alabama

Page 2 of 3 - Luck, Griffin III and Richardson among Award Recipients at The Home Depot College Football Awards			
Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Nation's Best Quarterback	Robert Griffin III, Baylor – WINNERCase Keenum, Houston Andrew Luck, Stanford		
Jim McMahon* (1981 winner)			
Outland TrophyNation's Most Outstanding Interior Lineman	David DeCastro, StanfordBarrett Jones, Alabama - WINNE		
interior cineman	Devon Still, Penn State		
ESPN Analyst Mark May* (1980 winner)			
<b>Jim Thorpe Award</b> Nation's Most Outstanding Defensive Back	David Amerson, NC StateMark Barron, Alabama		
	Morris Claiborne, LSU – WINNER		
Governor Bill Anoatubby			
<b>Doak Walker Award</b> Nation's Most Outstanding Running Back	Montee Ball, WisconsinLaMichael James, Oregon (2010 award winner)		

Calvin Hill Trent Richardson, Alabama - WINNER

The Walter Camp All-America Team Player of the Year

\*College Football Hall of Fame Inductee

The following players were also announced for the Walter Camp All-America Team, including the Walter Camp All-America Team Player of the Year, Andrew Luck:

**Andrew Luck, Stanford** 

	Player	Team	
Player of the Year	Andrew Luck	Stanford	
Presented by Lincoln Kennedy (1992 All-America Team)			
Offensive Team			
Quarterback	Andrew Luck	Stanford	
Wide Receiver	Justin Blackmon	Oklahoma State	
Wide Receiver	Ryan Broyles	Oklahoma	
Tight End	Tyler Eifert	Notre Dame	
Offensive Lineman	David DeCastro	Stanford	
Offensive Lineman	Barrett Jones	Alabama	
Offensive Lineman	Matt Kalil	USC	
Offensive Lineman	Jonathan Martin		
Center	David Molk	Michigan	
Running Back	LaMichael JamesOregon		
Running Back	Trent Richardson Alabama		
Defensive Team			
Defensive Lineman	Melvin Ingram	South Carolina	
Defensive Lineman	Whitney Mercilus	Illinois	
Defensive Lineman	Devon Still	Penn State	
Defensive Lineman	Jerel Worth	Michigan State	
Linebacker	Dont'a Hightower	<sup>r</sup> Alabama	
Linebacker	Jarvis Jones	Georgia	
Linebacker	Luke Kuechly	Boston College	
Defensive Back	David Amerson	N.C. State	
Defensive Back	Mark Barron	Alabama	
Defensive Back	Morris Claiborne		
Defensive Back	Tyrann Mathieu	LSU	
Special Team			
Placekicker	Randy Bullock	Texas A&M	
Punter	Shawn Powell	Florida State	

Punt Returner Tyler Lockett Kansas State

Several other awards were recognized during this year's show, several of which were announced during *The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show* hosted by Erin Andrews, Tom Rinaldi and Dari Nowkhah on ESPNU:

- Rimington Trophy (nation's most outstanding center) David Molk, Michigan
- John Mackey Award (nation's most outstanding tight end): Dwayne Allen, Clemson
- Rotary Lombardi Award(nation's most outstanding lineman): Luke Kuechly, Boston College
- Frank Broyles Award (top assistant coach): John Chavis, LSU defensive coordinator
- William V. Campbell Trophy (academic success) Andrew Rodriguez, Army

Additionally, ESPNU's debut season of the *Palmer & Pollack* show hosted a red carpet special prior to the awards show and recognized the following end of season college football moments and players:

- Catch of the Year: Michigan State's Hail Mary against Wisconsin on October 22
- MANimal of the Year: Tyrann Mathieu, LSU
- #TeamPalmer (All-Offensive Team): Andrew Luck, Stanford; Trent Richardson, Alabama; Montee Ball, Wisconsin; Kenall Wright, Baylor; Matt Kalil, USC
- #TeamPollack (All-Defensive Team): Tyrann Mathieu, LSU; Luke Kuechly, Boston College; Jarvis Jones, Georgia; Lavonte David, Nebraska; Melvin Ingram, South Carolina

## National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA)

The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official Web site, <a href="https://www.NCFAA.org">www.NCFAA.org</a>.

-30-

## Contacts:

Liz McCollum, Brener Zwikel & Associates, 813-421-0550 or elizabethm@bzapr.com

Gracie Blackburn, ESPN Communications, Gracie.Blackburn@espn.com