Eight Teams, Five From Florida, Claim Pop Warner Super Bowl National Championships

Filed in: ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex, Pop Warner Super Bowl, Uncategorized, Youth Sports

64 football teams and more than 400 cheer squads from around the nation took over ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex  for the 2016 Pop Warner Super Bowl. From Dec. 3-10, these young athletes competed against top competition to earn national titles in their respective age groups.

National champions were crowned in five divisions based on age and weight – Jr. Pee Wee (ages 8–11), Pee Wee (ages 9– 12), Jr. Varsity (ages 10–13), Varsity (ages 12–15) and Unlimited (11-14, 105-lb. minimum).

Championship games took place on Friday and Saturday, and eight teams emerged victories.

Below are the results:

Division I Junior Pee Wee:

Far West Steelers (AZ) beat Virginia Beach Mustangs (VA),  22-14

Division I Pee Wee:

Sweetwater Hawks (FL) beat North Raleigh Bulldogs (NC), 25-0

Division I Junior Varsity:

Richmond Perrine Giants (FL) beat North Philly Aztecs (PA), 20-6

Division I Varsity:

Northwest Raiders (PA) beat Santa Clara Lions (CA), 42-0

Unlimited Division:

Gilbert-Chandler Hitmen (AZ) beat St. Pete Silver Raiders (FL), 8-0

Division II Junior Pee Wee:

Point Loma Pointers (CA) beat South Dallas Wolverines (TX), 24-13

Division II Pee Wee:

Northwest Falcons (FL) beat Fort Osage Indians (MO), 34-6

Division II Junior Varsity:

Hoffman Estates RedHawks (IL) beat Riviera Beach Chargers (FL), 35-7

More than 70 percent of active NFL players got their starts competing on Pop Warner teams across the country, including Super Bowl MVP Peyton Manning (Denver Broncos) and eight-time Pro Bowl wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald (Arizona Cardinals).

For more  info, visit http://www.popwarnersb.com. You can also follow the Pop Warner Super Bowl on Twitter @Pop_Warner, @ESPNWWOS, and on www.facebook.com/espnwwos. For more information on Disney Sports, visit www.disneysportsnews.com

Video highlights will be available for download at box.com using 

  • Username: webupdate@popwarner.com
  •  Password: popwarner2016

For photos and team updates: amedeiros@ctpboston.com or bheffron@ctpboston.com.